Congratulations to the Class of 2019!

On Thursday, June 6, ninth grade class deans Megan Leahy, Kitty Stirling, and Will Tuttle led the 2019 Fessenden graduates out through the doors of the William R. Elfers ’63 Center for the Arts where they were greeted by an enthusiastic round of applause from faculty and staff lining the walkway. Even though the weather forecast brought the ceremony inside to the Pallotta Athletic Center, the event was enjoyed by all. The graduates processed to the Fessenden Chamber Ensemble playing “Processional” from
Water Music by G.F. Handel.

Head of School Steve Armstrong gave the opening remarks to the graduates, families, friends, alumni, trustees, faculty, and staff. In his message to the graduates, Steve recognized the tremendous character that they demonstrate, both individually and as a group. As he began, he noted that the soon-to-be alumni might expect “to hear about academic achievement, or artistic and athletic accomplishments...but that’s not my direction.” Continuing, he shared, “While I find achievement in these areas laudable, what I find much more meaningful is who you are as people—how you treat each other and how you have treated this school community.” Steve shared examples of the character these boys showed throughout the year, and he expressed his appreciation for these notable qualities. Finally, he thanked them for making the school year special, and he wished them well as they depart Fessenden.

The impact of character and academic education at Fessenden was evidenced by the young men who sat at the front of the room. A time-honored tradition at Fessenden has been the recognition of student excellence in all areas of school and academic life. Prizes were announced and awarded before Steve introduced the 2019 commencement speaker, Dr. Michelle Sanchez P ’22, ’23. Michelle is a member of Fessenden’s Board of Trustees and the principal of Epiphany School in Dorchester, Massachusetts.

As the ceremony concluded, the graduates recessed during their first moments as alumni of The Fessenden School. The weather cleared, and they made their way to Hyde Slope, where they formed a receiving line and were congratulated by faculty and staff. After sharing many handshakes, hugs, well wishes, and sage advice, everyone was invited to the Sanderson Dining Hall to enjoy lunch together.

Upper School Prizes
The Drawing Prize – Lachlan Sutton, Grade 8
The Painting Prize – Drake Melo, Grade 8
The Excellence in Art Prize – Shinnosuke Miyamichi, Grade 9
The Photography Prize – Aaron Chittilappilly, Grade 8
The Drama Prize – Tommy Hunnewell, Grade 8
The Barbara Brown Music Prize – Jason Kim, Grade 8
The Band Prize – Michael Glazer, Grade 8
The Steven J. Delicata Prize for Instrumental Music – William Ji, Grade 9
The Language Prize for Spanish – Blake Ankner, Grade 9
The Language Prize for Mandarin – Daniel Jeon, Grade 9
The Classics Prize – Tommy Hunnewell, Grade 8
The Upper School English Language Learner’s Award – Rodrigo Fernandez Cueto Irurita, Grade 9
The Lincoln Prize (Distinguished in Composition) – Doug Wang, Grade 8
The Frank Vera Prize (Given for excellence in American History) – Chase Hornstein, Grade 8
The Robert A. Gibson Prize (Given for considerable interest in music, drama, and English) – Peter Shea, Grade 9
The Livingston Carroll Mathematics Prize – Daniel Jeon, Grade 9
The Award for Excellence in Science – Doug Wang, Grade 8
The William G. Army History Award – Finn McGaan, Grade 9
The Winer Prize for Computer Technology – Peter Barkley III, Grade 8

Academic Heads of Grades
Grade 7 – Robbie Mulroy
Grade 8 – Jack Patel
Grade 9 – Daniel Jeon

Academic Head of School
Jack Patel

Graduation Prizes Awarded to Ninth Graders
The William N. Lyons Prize – Emilio Justo, Jr.
The Abraham Shindler Award – Blake Ankner
The Gregory L. Palandjian Award – Ethan Karabanow
The Verrill Prize – Peter Shea
Keppelman Cup for Progress and Development – Jack Ryan
Keppelman Cup for Character, Conduct, and Scholarship – William Ji
Keppelman Cup for Character and Sports – Kyle Hicks
The Headmaster’s Award – Jean-François Manigo Gilardoni
No comments have been posted
© 2015 The Fessenden School. All Rights Reserved.
The Fessenden School
250 Waltham Street
West Newton, MA 02465
(617) 964-5350

Get Directions